Tick tock, tick tock!

It’s been a while hasn’t it, and do you know why that is? It’s because I’ve been out having a blast! 🙂

I’ve had a few months of not having to worry about hospital appointments or scan results and it’s been lovely.

I was part of Stella McCartney’s breast cancer awareness campaign which was a privilege to do. Here are a couple of photos from the shoot. I was a little nervous about the topless shot but I’ve had a great response so think it was definitely worthwhile doing.

 

I had a lovely weekend with some girlfriends I met through the cancer world. They came to my house and I shipped the boys out for the weekend! We had such a good laugh together. We ate loads, we played board games, we played the awful but hilarious game Cards Against Humanity and we laughed so much that our stomachs hurt. It is amazing how relaxed you can be around people that you’ve not long met. We have something unique in common, we have stared our own morality in the face and we have all been through hell and back (plus a bit more). We can laugh about stuff that no non cancer person  (AKA muggles) would dream about laughing at. This is the reason that I am so looking forward to a Christmas meet up with my BBB’s (my support group bitches) next month. Nearly 50 of us descending on London for an evening of drunken shenanigans!

Last week I had the great pleasure of attending the Breast Cancer Care London fashion show with some fab ladies from another Facebook support group I am in. This group is called Flat Friends and everyone in this group has had a single or double mastectomy without reconstruction. It’s a very empowering group and definitely makes me feel more normal for choosing not to have reconstruction and living flat. It was so lovely meeting up with these awesome women and watch some other awesome women walk down the catwalk. Three of the models were members of Flat Friends and one model was a BBB so we had extra cheering to do!

We all had a fantastic evening, partied til late and even got ourselves some celeb selfies!

bcc-fashion

Now all that is over it is now November and that means it’s scan time and this Thursday I have a PET scan. This is to check that bastard dodgy lymph node was definitely not bloody cancer and to check that the cancer is still staying far far away from me!  So now it’s back to being anxious and thinking the worst. Goodbye sleep and hello insomnia…..oh and hello Diazapam! I obviously can never think it’s going to be good news because it just feels like tempting fate but I’ve got no symptoms of it being anywhere else so fingers crossed people! I’m very glad that I’m being monitored so closely but fucking hell its a head fuck every single time!

I’m really hoping it comes back clear so we can have a great family Christmas. The last two years I have been having treatment and it would be so nice to have a chemo free festive period with my family.

 

K xx

One thought on “Tick tock, tick tock!

Leave a comment