Isn’t it ironic….

I never thought the day would come when I would be posing topless in The Sun….but that is exactly what happened last week! Pretty ironic seeing as I have zero boobage! ;o) I am not normally a fan of this paper but thought it was too good an opportunity to pass up to show that living without reconstruction is not crazy or strange. Click here to read the article.

I had a wonderful day in London with three other ladies showing off just how amazing we all are! It was a loooong and tiring day but it was lovely to get my hair and make up done and tbh have a day out!

 

The response was incredible and I’ve had some really lovely messages from family, friends and strangers. It was all made  more worthwhile when the support group I’m in called Flat Friends gained new members because of the article and that was one of the main reasons I did it. If you, or anyone you know, is living without reconstruction after a mastectomy (single or double) please come and join us!

Now at the weekend I went to the wedding reception of an amazing woman and her partner. Heidi is one of the BBB’s and has been through some bloody awful shit but right now she is making the most of life.  If you don’t already know her she has an amazing and funny blog called Storm in a Tit Cup, go check it out. Me and Dave didn’t know anyone but that did not stop us having a fab night. The band were amazing and we just danced all night. Oh and I also met The Unmummsy Mum who was just lovely.

 

I remember when one of our group, Danielle,  found Heidi’s blog and knew instantly that she belonged with us. She stalked her, got her contact details and told her all about our awesome group and that was it, Heidi was a Badass Booby Bitch! Unfortunately Danielle has since passed away and it is coming up to the 1 year anniversary of her passing. There is not a day that goes by where she is not missed in our group. She was such a huge part of our lives with her awesome sense of humour and her amazing way with words. She is missed so very much and we still can’t get our heads around the fact that is is gone.

 

At the moment I am finding it quite difficult to live without any hospital appointments or treatment. I know I should be embracing the freedom of not needing anything but it’s like my safety blanket has been whipped away. Only people in the same position will understand how shit scary it is to just be left to get on with life after cancer treatment. Especially with how mine came back so quickly both times I am panicking at every ache and pain. At the moment my back and arms hurt and every scar I have seems to be really painful, I have also had a cough for bloody ages. I’m trying not to worry too much, deep down I know its because I’ve probably done too much and the cough is something everyone has at the moment. Thankfully the cough has now disappeared……phew!!

I’m also feeling incredibly guilty about having no energy/inclination during the week to do anything with my youngest. I have every intention of going out and taking him places like I did with my eldest when he was younger but I get indoors and just end up staying put. I really do need to make more of an effort to get out and about, but for now I have to focus on the fact that he’s fed, clothed and loved and hope that is enough for now.

 

I am off to New York next weekend though….woohoooo!!!!! Will update you all when I’m back.

 

K xx

 

 

2 thoughts on “Isn’t it ironic….

  1. Lovely blog. Love you honey. Live for the moment, we can’t change the past we can’t predict the future. Keep that beautiful smile on your face, and keep planning fun. See you soon for joint fun xxxx

    Like

  2. Love your blog Kim!
    I’m sorry you gave been in pain, you are so brave writing about it. I’m sure you’re helping loads of other ladies going through similar treatment.

    I get the guilts about how often I take my kids out but Florie loves days at home playing. There’s always another Mum that does more! Let me know if you fancy a coffe & park date with the kiddies!

    Georgie xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

