Me

Alright!

I’m Kim and I am a 32 year old mum of two that just so happens to be going through Breast cancer treatment for a second time in as many years.

Yesterday was my 32nd birthday and I would have loved it to have been truely wonderful and special……it wasn’t. There was no milk or bread in the house so couldn’t have breakfast, it was pissing down with rain and I had a lunchtime appointment in the radiotherapy department. I do however have a 90’s themed party to host on Saturday which I’m sure will be spectacular!

So I decided to start to do something that I’ve loved doing throughout my treatment and that is write about all the shit I do and think. First up I shall tell you about my ‘journey’ (yuk) so far….

I was diagnosed in October 2014 just 7 months after my youngest boy was born. It was stage 3 Triple Negative Breast cancer and in the dreaded lymph nodes! I had Chemo first, that wonderful FEC-T stuff, lumpectomy then mastectomy and rounded it off with some good old fashioned radiotherapy. All finished 31st May 2015, lovely just in time for summer.

Routine follow up with my oncologist in August flags up a lump in my ‘good’ boob……’so how long has that lump been there?’ He casually asks.

FUUUUCKKK!

Ultrasound and biopsies later and I have it confirmed that the bastard is back. This time in the mammary lymph node in good boob and also 15!/30 normal lymph nodes. Scary shit I know. Miraculously CT scans rule out any other spread.

Second mastectomy, more Chemo,this time GemCarbo and I’m currently on 8/15 radiotherapy.

I’m not doing too badly, just totally fucking exhausted but am plodding on. What else can I do?! Apart from sit here and wait for it to come back again……..

So I’m going to live life and record it here for everyone to see.

I’m flat, fabulous and enjoying being alive……whilst probably drinking my own body weight in prosecco!

 

Kim X

Leave a Reply

